Duterte keeps Metro Manila under GCQ, downgrades Cebu City to MGCQ

Metro Manila will remain under General Community Quarantine until July 30.

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque said the University of the Philippines earlier recommended shifting to Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine for the National Capital Region.

President Rodrigo Duterte initially agreed to upgrade the quarantine protocol in Metro Manila, but was prevailed upon by mayors to retain the GCQ.

Roque said quarantine protocols will be enforced more strictly to stem the surge in cases in Metro Manila.

Cebu City, according to Roque, is now under MECQ.

Aside from Metro Manila, the President likewise placed under GCQ the following areas: Laguna, Cavite and Rizal for Luzon; Lapu Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay, Minglanilla, and Concepcion in Cebu Province; Ormoc City, Southern Leyte; Zamboanga City; Butuan City; Agusan del Norte, and Basilan.

The following areas are now under Modified General Community Quarantine with zoning containment strategy and strict local action: CAR – Benguet, Baguio City; Region I – Ilocos Sur, Pangasinan, Ilocos Norte, La Union, Dagupan City; Region II – Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya; Region III – Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Bulacan, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City; Region IVA – Batangas, Quezon, Lucena City; Region IVB – Oriental Mindoro, Occidental Mindoro, Puerto Princesa City; Region V – Albay, Masbate, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Naga City; Region VI – Iloilo, Negros Occidental, Capiz, Antique, Aklan, Guimaras, Iloilo City, Bacolod City; Region VII – Negros Oriental, Bohol, Cebu Province; Region VIII – Western Samar, Leyte, Biliran, Tacloban City; Region IX – Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Norte; Region X – Misamis Occidental, Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City; Region XI – Davao Oriental, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao de Oro, Davao City; Region XII – Sultan Kudarat, Cotabato, South Cotabato, General Santos City; and BARMM – Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao.

The rest of the country will remain under MGCQ (low-risk), Roque said.

Topics: Metro Manila , General Community Quarantine , Harry Roque , Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA