Makati City Bakuna

Manila Standard reporters bag business journalism awards

Two business reporters of the Manila Standard won at the 27th Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines Business Journalism Awards.

Manila Standard reporters bag business journalism awards
Jenniffer Austria and Darwin Amojelar
EJAP, the premier organization of business reporters and editors in the country, in partnership with Ayala Corp. announced the winners at the Fairmont Hotel in Makati City last Wednesday.

Jenniffer B. Austria was declared the Reporter of the Year in Capital Markets beat, her second award from EJAP in the same category.

Austria, a graduate from the University of the Philippines in Baguio, covers the Philippine Stock Exchange and Securities and Exchange beat.

Darwin G. Amojelar was named Reporter of the Year in Telecommunications and Transportation beat, his first award for Manila Standard.

This is his 9th award in various categories from the EJAP.

Amojelar, covers the telecommunications and transport beat and has been with the Manila Standard since 2015.

Louise Simeon of the Philippine Star was named Reporter of the Year for the Agribusiness and Mining beat, Bianca Cuaresma of the Business Mirror won the award as Reporter of the Year for Banking, while Cai U. Ordinario won the award as Reporter of the Year for the Macroeconomy beat.

Cathy Pillas of Business Mirror was declared Reporter of the Year for Trade beat while Ben fe Vera and Ron Domingo of the Philippine Daily Inquirer won Reporter of the Year for Finance and Energy beat, respectively.

Jasper Arcalas of Business Mirror was recognized for a business feature story.

The winners were selected based on the content (60 percent) and style (40 percent) of submitted entries last year.

The judges for this year’s awards are former Finance undersecretary Milwida Guevara, now chief executive officer of non-profit Synergeia Foundation; Arsenio Balisacan, chairman of Philippine Competition Commission; Ignacio Bunye, former Monetary Board Member of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas; Cora Guidote, senior vice president for Investor Relations of SM Investments Corp., former DOF Secretary Cesar Purisima, Arnel Casanova, former president of Bases Conversion and Development Authority and Ponciano Manalo, president of SM Retail Inc.

Punongbayan and Araullo was the accounting firm hired to tabulate the scores given by the judges.

The annual EJAP Awards, in partnership with Ayala Group, seeks to promote excellent coverage in the business sector. This year’s winners each received a trophy, cash prize, and a Samsung S9.

READ: Standard reporter wins award

Topics: Manila Standard , 27th Economic Journalists Association of the Philippines Business Journalism Awards , Ayala Corp. ,
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.