Presidential bets unveil senatorial slates for next year’s elections

Vice President Leni Robredo on Friday announced six more candidates in her Senate slate in the 2022 elections.

PRESIDENTIAL BETS. Senator Ralph Recto endorses Aksyon Demokratiko presidential candidate Mayor Francisco “Isko” Moreno Domagoso with his vice-presidential running mate Dr. Willie Ong, and their senatorial canditates on Friday. (Inset)  Vice President Leni Robredo and Senator Kiko Pangilinan introduce their senatorial slate for the 2022 elections in a joint press conference on Friday. Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon will serve as the senatorial slate’s campaign manager. Norman Cruz
She said lawyer Alex Lacson;  re-electionist- Senators. Richard Gordon, Juan Miguel Zubiri and Joel Villanueva; Sorsogon Gov. Francis “Chiz” Escudero, and former vice president Jejomar Binay are joining the lineup of her previous senatorial bets. 

Earlier, Robredo said ex-senator Antonio Trillanes IV; re-electionist Senators Sen. Risa Hontiveros and Sen. Leila de Lima; lawyer Chel Diokno, and ex-Ifugao representative Teddy Baguilat were joining her team.

“This is just consistent with what we have been pushing for a very long time already. We have long been working for this — to unify as many people as possible coming from diverse backgrounds not just in politics but sometimes in beliefs,” she said, adding that “willingness to unite” has been a key factor why they chose to run under one team.

Robredo is an independent candidate who is being backed by the opposition Liberal Party and coalition 1Sambayan. “Those we have chosen as guest candidates were among the very first who responded to our call for unity,” she said.

Senator Panfilo Lacson earlier said his senatorial ticket could be composed of 14 candidates. 

The Partido Reporma standard-bearer said his senatorial ticket includes former senators Loren Legarda, Francis “Chiz” Escudero, Sherwin Gatchalian, Joel Villanueva, JV Ejercito, and Richard Gordon, among other.

Also included are Paolo Capino, an advocate for PWDs, former Makati representative Monsour Del Rosario, and ophthalmologist Minguita Padilla

Lacson said a “surprise candidate” will be announced by the party later.

Senator Manny Pacquiao said Senate Majority Leader Juan Miguel Zubiri, Senator Joel Villanueva, Sorsogon Governor Francis “Chiz” Escudero, and Antique Representative Loren Legarda are part of his Senate slate.

Popular broadcaster Raffy Tulfo, and PDP-Laban founder Lutgardo Barbo are also included in Pacquiao senatorial slate, as well as labor leader Elmer Labog and human rights lawyer Neri Colmenares. 

Zubiri, Villanueva, Escudero, and Legarda meanwhile were also included named in the senatorial slates of the Partido Reporma backing the presidential bid of Lacson, and the Liberal Party and 1Sambayanan backing the bid of Vice President Robredo. 

Topics: Leni Robredo , Isko Moreno , Manny Pacquiao , Liberal Party , Richard Gordon ,  Juan Miguel Zubiri , Joel Villanueva
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.