Resolve cases quickly, CJ orders judges

Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta on Thursday urged new officials of the Philippine Trial Judges League Inc. to help the Supreme Court’s reform programs intended to speed up resolution of cases in various and to weed out misfits in the judiciary.

In his speech, Peralta stressed that the SC under his leadership is determined to “get rid of the misfits and those who are not conforming to the standards.”

According to him, the de-clogging of court dockets is being implemented from the lowest courts to the SC.

A check with the Office of the Court Administrator showed that as of December 2018, there were 8,852 pending cases with the SC; 19,732 with the Court of Appeals; 5,237 with the Sandiganbayan; 1,353 with the Court of Tax Appeal; 546,182 with the regional trial courts and 160,153 with the first level courts like municipal courts and metropolitan trial courts.

Peralta warned that misfits in the judiciary will face stiff administrative punishment if found guilty of committing impropriety, graft and corruption.

The chief magistrate earlier said the SC will “impose timelines in resolving administrative complaints, including complaint initiated by the court and timelines for the court to resolve these complaints.”

Peralta inducted the national officers and regional directors of the PTJLI for 2020 to 2022 at the En Banc session hall of the SC in Ermita, Manila.

The PTJLI is an association of judges of the municipal trial courts and the municipal circuit trial courts.

Sworn into office were Judge Crislyn P. Sancho, President; Judge Artemio H. Quidilla, Jr., Executive Vice-President; Judge Maricel M. Magpantay-Ng, Vice-President for Luzon; Judge Ana Lesa Sarsoza-Radaza, Vice President for Visayas; Judge Arassad M. Macumbal, Vice-President for Mindanao; Judge Rochelle S. Manuel, Secretary General; Judge Jennifer S. Loveria, Assistant Secretary General; Judge Rebecca A. Guillen-Ubaña, Treasurer; Judge Jerlie Luis Requerme, Assistant Treasurer; Judge Alpha S. Delgado, Auditor; Judge Ma. Anastacia D. Manalang-Labog, P.R.O; and Judge Odelon S. Mabutin, Ex-Officio Member.

The PTJLI regional directors are: Judge Jaime D. Bugain, Region I; Judge Domingo B. Quilang III, Region II; Judge Jamila R. Cruz-Sarga, Region III; Judge Ireneo M. Lustre, Region IV; Judge Salvador C. Villarosa, Jr., Region V; Judge Blas C. Nolasco, Jr., Region VI; Judge Joseph P. Baton, Region VII; Judge Maria Cielo S. Velasquez-Martinez, Region VIII; Judge Maria Teresa R. Pangilinan-Unger, Region IX; Judge Stephen Ian T. Belacho, Region X; Judge Cheryll Ann C. Chamen-Paronda, Region XI; Judge Nectar Precious Hope Gumana-Mamon, Region XII; Judge Anthony P. Vitor, Region XIII; and Judge Kaudri L. Jainul.

Topics: Diosdado M. Peralta , Philippine Trial Judges League Inc. , Supreme Court
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House