NCRPO tabs 400 areas as firecracker use zones

More than 400 areas in Metro Manila were designated as firecracker zones in connection with the New Year celebration, the National Capital Region Police Office announced on Friday.

The NCRPO also identified 55 community fireworks display areas for the revelry aimed to reduce fire incidents caused by fireworks and firecrackers.

The designated firecracker zones, according to NCRPO chief Guillermo Eleazar,  were made in compliance to President Rodrigo Duterte’s Executive Order No. 28, which prohibits people from putting up their own fireworks displays or use firecrackers in their residences.

Eleazar said the designated areas were identified by the five police districts under the supervision of NCRPO in close coordination with the respective barangays and local government units.

Police assistance desks will be established in these areas and will be manned by police personnel, who will be augmented by NCRPO force multipliers.

Quezon City Police identified 166 areas, the Northern Police District has 93, Manila has 73, Southern Police has 52, while Eastern Manila Police has 20 areas.

The prohibited fireworks include Piccolo, Super Lolo, Atomic Triangle, Large Judas Belt, Large Bawang, Pillbox, improvised PVC cannons known as “boga”,  Goodbye Philippines, Bin Laden, Mother Rocket, Lolo Thunder, Atomic Bomb, Five Star, Pla-Pla, Giant Whistle Bomb, Kabasi and Watusi.

The list of firecrackers allowed inside the firecracker zones are Baby Rocket, Bawang, El Diablo, Judas Belt, Paper Caps, Pulling of Strings, Sky Rocket or Kwitis and Small Trianggulo.

List of Pyrotechnic Device that can be used outside the firecracker zone:

Butterfly; Fountain; Jumbo Regular and Special; Luces; Mabuhay; Roman Candle; Trompillo; Whistle Devices; all kinds of pyrotechnic devices (Pailaw); and other types equivalent to the foregoing pyrotechnic device.

Thirty-four areas in Quezon City were among the 55 designated community fireworks display zones, 12 in EPD, five in SPD and two each in Manila and Northern Manila.

Eleazar said that cities of Makati, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Marikina and the municipality of Pateros have not released a designated firework display zones due to the strict implementation of their respective city ordinances.

“The NCRPO will work hand-in-hand with concerned government agencies to ensure safe and secured celebration of the coming holidays. Our people can rest assure of our continuous vigilance for their protection and security and that we will not allow anyone that will disrupt the peaceful observance and celebration of the holiday season,” Eleazar said.

Eleazar directed the deployment of 10,000 cops on New Year’s eve aimed to achieve a zero-casualty record in cases of indiscriminate firing of guns.

Topics: National Capital Region Police Office , Guillermo Eleazar , Fireworks , New Year , Rodrigo Duterte
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House
Reopening: PH Economy on The Mend
Reopening: PH Economy on The Mend