Makati now taking biz permit renewals

The city government of Makati has started accepting applications for the renewal of business permits and tax payments in anticipation of the Jan. 20, 2017 deadline set by its Business Permits and Licensing Office.

BPLO chief Maribert Pagente said they have started receiving application forms from licensed professional offices and other establishments in the city to renew their permits.

Most of the offices that applied early were dental and medical clinics, representative offices, non-stock and non-profit organizations, regional headquarters and regional operating headquarters, merchandisers, real estate lessors, law offices and other professional practices, cooperatives, and common carriers.

For the convenience of real property owners, the Office of the City Treasurer has released the schedule of the Computerized Real Property Tax Payment in the barangays, which will start on Jan. 3, 2017. 

The city government also offered a 10-percent discount on realty taxes paid on an annual basis, and five percent for quarterly payments made during the first 20 days of the quarter.

However, annual realty tax payments made after March will be charged an eight percent penalty, while late quarterly payments will incur a penalty of two percent per month.

Beginning January 3, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on scheduled dates, satellite payment centers in barangay halls linked to the City Treasury are scheduled to accept realty tax payments. To date, the program covers 31 barangays, excluding the two disputed barangays.

Scheduled to accept realty tax payments for the first week of the New Year are Bel-Air and Dasmariñas (January 3 and 4) and Magallanes and San Lorenzo (January 5 and 6).

On the second week, payment centers will be opened in the following barangays: Forbes Park and Urdaneta (January 9); Bangkal, Pio del Pilar, San Isidro, Palanan, and San Antonio (January 10); La Paz, Sta. Cruz, Singkamas, Tejeros, and Kasilawan (January 11); Carmona, Olympia, Valenzuela, Poblacion, and Guadalupe Viejo (January 12); Guadalupe Nuevo, Pinagkaisahan, Pitogo, Cembo, and South Cembo (January 13). 

The last batch to open payment centers will consist of West Rembo, East Rembo, Comembo, Pembo, and Rizal (January 16).

RPT collection starts on the first working day of January until January 20. The succeeding quarterly payments shall be made until April 20 (second quarter), July 20 (third quarter, and October 20 (fourth quarter).

Meanwhile, penalties on late payments of business taxes include a 25-percent surcharge and a two percent penalty per month of delay until the amount due is fully settled.

Topics: Makati City , business permits , tax payments
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1