Voters go for incumbents, young bets

Voters in Metro Manila prefer incumbent officials and young candidates to be the leaders in their locality with just four days left before the midterm elections on Monday.

Meanwhile, more groups are endorsing the reelection bid of Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay and her team in the May 13 elections.

After getting the support of the Iglesia Ni Cristo, Binay and her team then got the support of various organizations: transport groups, vendors, homeowners, senior citizens, the youth and the LGBT community. 

Several groups representing various sectors in Makati have come forward and endorsed Binay and her Team Performance slate, declaring their full support.

Young candidates like Quezon City vice mayor Maria Josefina Belmonte, former Manila vice mayor Isko Moreno and former Taguig City congressman Lino Edgardo Cayetano, and incumbent leaders such as Mayor Abigail Binay of Makati City, Mayor Roberto Eusebio of Pasig City, Pasay City Rep. Imelda Calixto-Rubiano, and Navotas Rep. Toby Tiangco will most likely get elected for mayor based on the recent Metro Manila survey conducted by the RP Mission and Development Foundation Inc. 

The survey was conducted between May 4 and May 8 and covered 8,000 respondents in the National Capital Region.

The question posed for the mayoralty race: “If the elections for mayor are to be held today, who among the following candidates will you vote for?” 

The survey results showed that Joy Belmonte is the leading candidate for mayor with 65 percent over Quezon City Rep. Vincent Crisologo who got 30 percent, while former congressman Chuck Mathay received only 3 percent.

Belmonte is up by +5 percentage points from the previous survey, giving her a lead of 35 percent over Crisologo. 

Incumbent Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada was up by +5 percentage points in the previous survey but not enough to pull down the voters’ preference for Moreno, who is leading with 45 percent.

Another mayoralty candidate and former mayor Alfredo Lim remained at 15 percent as in the previous survey. 

Moreno, whose real name is Francisco Domagaso, is a former actor. He served as vice mayor under the administration of both Lim and Estrada.

In Taguig City, Lino Cayetano, a film/television director and brother-law-in-law of incumbent Mayor Laarni Cayetano, garnered 62 percent against Taguig-Pateros Rep. Arnel Cerafica, who got only 35 percentage points. 

Mayor Binay, on the other hand, would likely get another term as she enjoys a 60-percent lead over her younger brother and also former mayor Jejomar Erwin Binay Jr. who got 37 percent.  

Junjun Binay, who has recently had a heated argument with his sister during a forum, is up by +3 percentage points compared to the previous survey, but not enough to upset the strong lead of the incumbent mayor.

Mayor Eusebio of Pasig is also way ahead at 61 percent compared to Vico Sotto, son of comedian and noontime show host Vic Sotto and actress Coney Reyes, who scored 38 percentage points. 

Calixto-Rubiano, who wants to replace her older brother Mayor Antonino Calixto, has 72 percent against Chet Cuneta, brother of megastar Sharon Cuneta, with 19 percent.

Another lawmaker, Toby Tiangco, who is running for mayor in Navotas, is leading with 74 percent against Dan Ang’s 25 percent.

In San Juan City, former vice mayor Francis Zamora with 55 percent enjoys a comfortable lead of 10 percentage points against incumbent Vice Mayor Janella Estrada (45 percent), daughter of former senator Jinggoy Estrada. 

Mayor Jaime Fresnedi of Muntinlupa City also enjoys a majority preference rating of 55 percentage points over former Immigration official Marc Red Mariñas with 40 percent. 

Former Parañaque City Mayor Florencio Bernabe Jr. was not able to convince voters to rally behind him with only 34 percentage points while his rival incumbent Mayor Edwin Olivarez enjoyed a high 65 percent ratings. 

Other clear winners, based on the survey, are Mandaluyong City Mayor Carmelita “Menchie” Abalos (98 percent), Caloocan City Mayor Oscar “Oca” Malapitan (95 percent), Las Piñas City Mayor Imelda Aguilar (96 percent), Marikina City Mayor Marcelino “Marcy” Teodoro (90 percent), Valenzuela City Mayor Rexlon “Rex” Gatchalian (96 percent), Pateros Mayor Miguel Ponce III (77 percent) and Malabon City Mayor Lenlen Oreta (69 percent). 

READ: Senate race: Youth vote will be the game changer

READ: 3 incumbent female officials possible winners for mayor

Topics: incumbent officials , Abigail Binay , May 13 elections , Iglesia Ni Cristo
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.