5 Northern Luzon areas placed under Signal Number 1

Tropical cyclone warning number 1 is up over 5 areas in Northern Luzon due to Tropical Depression ‘Julian.’

These areas are Batanes, Northern Cagayan, Babuyan group of islands, Apayao and Ilocos Norte.

‘Julian’ has maintained its strength as it moves toward extreme Northern Luzon.

The tropical depression is currently located 465 kilometers east southeast of Basco, Batanes.

It packs maximum sustained winds of 45 kph near the center and gustiness of 55 kph.

PAGASA expects ‘Julian’ to make landfall in Batanes on Thursday and leave the Philippine Area of Responsibility (PAR) on Friday afternoon.

Topics: weather , PAGASA , Julian , tropical depression , climate
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA