‘Respeto’ leads 41st Gawad Urian nominations

posted May 24, 2018 at 06:10 pm
by  Manila Standard Showbitz
The Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino has announced the nominees for the 41st Gawad Urian happening on June 14 at the ABS-CBN Vertis Tent.

Leading this year’s list is the film Respeto with 12 nominations including Best Picture, Best Director for Treb Monteras II, and Best Actor for rapper-actor Abra. 

Best picture nominees Balangiga: Howling Wilderness follows with 10 nominations and Tu Pug Imatuy with nine nominations. Other Best Picture nominees are The Chanters with a total of seven nominations, and Birdshot and Bhoy Intsik, both with six nods each.

Other films that received multiple nominations are Changing Partners, Ang Larawan, and Kita Kita with six each.

Gawad Urian 2018 is set to highlight Filipino music in the much-awaited awards night as three of this year’s leading film nominees are musical Respeto, Ang Larawan, and Changing Partners.

This year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian award will also go to jazz pianist, composer, arranger, and musical director Winston Raval (Vanishing Tribe). The musician has handled film scoring for over 20 movies, and he was previously honored as Best Musical Director for Ikaw Ay Akin in the 1977 Urian Awards.

A scene from Treb Monteras II’s ‘Respeto,’ which earned 12 nominations from the annual Gawad urian
Meanwhile, the nominees for Best Actress are Alessandra de Rossi (Kita Kita), Joanna Ampil (Ang Larawan), Angeli Bayani (Bagahe), Gloria Diaz (Si Chedeng at Si Apple), Dexter Doria (Paki), Jally Nae Gilbaliga (The Chanters), Agot Isidro (Changing Partners), Elizabeth Oropesa (Si Chedeng at Si Apple), Bela Padilla (100 Tula Para Kay Stella), Angellie Nicholle Sanoy (Bomba), and Malona Sulatan (Tu Pug Imatuy).

Apart from Abra, Empoy Marquez (Kita Kita), Nonie Buencamino (Smaller and Smaller Circles), Timothy Castillo (Neomanila), Noel Comia Jr. (Kiko Boksingero), Allen Dizon (Bomba), RS Francisco (Boy Intsik), Jojit Lorenzo (Changing Partners), Sandino Martin (Changing Partners), and Justine Samson (Balangiga: Howling Wilderness) are the Best Actor nominees.

Other nominees for Best Director are Arnel Barbarona for Tu Pug Imatuy, Sigrid Andre Bernardo, Kita Kita, Khavn De La Cruz for Balaliga: Howling Wilderness, Joel Lamangan for Bhoy Intsik, James Robin Mayo for The Chanters, and Mikhail Red for Birdshot.

Other awards in this annual film recognition include Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Screenplay, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Sound, Best Short Film and Best Documentary.

The nominees and winners are chosen by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino members led by its president Rolando Tolentino together with members Grace Javier Alfonso, Butch Francisco, Bienvenido Lumbera, Miguel Rapatan, Benilda Santos, Dr. Nicanor Tiongson, Tito Genova Valiente, Patrick Campos, Shirley Lua, and Gary Devilles.

Catch the 41st Gawad Urian on Cinema One (SkyCable ch. 56, Destiny Cable Digital Channel 56, and Destiny Analog Ch. 37) live from the ABS-CBN Vertis North Tent on June 14 at 7:00 p.m..

The 1st CineManunuri Film Festival, a partnership between the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino ang Cinema Centenario, will be held from June 15 to 29 featuring the nominated and awarded movies in Gawad Urian 2018.

To see the full list of nominees, visit www.cinemaone.ph and manunuri.com. For other updates, like Cinema One’s official Facebook page (www.facebook.com/Cinema1channel).

Topics: Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino , 41st Gawad Urian , Respeto , Treb Monteras II , Abra
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by thestandard.ph readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of thestandard.ph. While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.