Philippine Sports Tourism Awards winners

The search for the best sports tourism efforts in the country has culminated with the first-ever Philippine Sports Tourism Awards. Held at Resorts World Manila, the Awards recognized events, destinations, local government units, national sports associations, private companies, and event organizers who have contributed to the growth of the local sports tourism industry.

Organized by the Philippine Sports Commission, Department of Tourism (DoT), Tourism Promotions Board Philippines, and Selrahco Management, the Awards attracted hundreds of nominations from across the country but only nine programs were distinguished for their efforts to develop and promote the Philippines as a sports tourism destination.

Clark Freeport Zone, Pampanga was named the Sports Tourism Destination of the Year for hosting various sports tourism events, including racing competitions, car shows, Frisbee games, and the widely attended Philippine Hot Air Balloon Fiesta that welcomes around 112,000 local and foreign visitors yearly.

The Municipality of Lubao and Sunrise Events, Inc. also took home individual trophies as Organizer of the Year in the public and private sector categories, respectively. Both winners have held events that boosted local sports tourism as a viable industry in the Philippines.

Winners of the first Philippine Sports Tourism Awards (front row) with the panel of judges
Cebu’s Tabuelan 111 won in the Event of the Year-Domestic category, for its successful tri-event races held in celebration of the town’s fiesta. Ironman 70.3 Philippines, meanwhile, took home the award in the Event of the Year -­ international events category.

The Philippine Inter-Island Sailing Federation, which popularized boat races in the country, was named Sport Association of the Year. Ironman 70.3’s campaign to make Cebu a global sports tourism destination won the Destination Marketing of the Year award.

The Philippine Rugby Football Union and Hong Kong-based civic group Pot Bellied Pigs Rugby Club’s Fat Boys 10s Rugby was hailed Charity Event of the Year 2015 for delivering medical assistance to 1000 kids annually through funds generated from annual golf and rugby tournaments.

Resorts World Manila Golf Masters, which catered to the event broadcasted to over 200 countries, took home the Event Sponsorship Award of the Year 2015. This professional golf tour is touted as the richest tournament in the Philippines, with a $1-million prize money.

The awardees were selected by a panel of judges, which included, Philippine Olympic Committee Board Member and Chairman for  Women in Sports Cynthia Carrion–Norton, Philippine Sports Commission Chairman William Ramirez, DoT Undersecretary Benito Bengzon, Strategic Works, Inc. director for Public Relations Mark Parlade, and Charles Lim of Selrahco Management.

The first of its kind in the ASEAN region, the Philippine Sports Tourism Awards is made possible with the support of the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation, Cebu Pacific, and Resorts World Manila.

Topics: Philippine Sports Tourism Awards , Cynthia Carrion–Norton , William Ramirez , Benito Bengzon , Mark Parlade , Selrahco Management
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1