69th Palanca Awards names winners, inducts Insiang co-writer into Hall of Fame

69th Palanca Awards names winners, inducts Insiang co-writer into Hall of Fame
Lamberto E. Antonio receives his Hall of Fame award after winning his fifth First Prize in Tula category this year. 
The 69th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature honored 56 writers for their literary excellence. 

Of this year’s winners, 32 are first-time awardees, two of the authors each bagged prizes in two separate categories, with one being a first-time winner. 

Decorated writer Lamberto E. Antonio, who co-wrote the screenplay for Lino Brocka’s film Insiang, was inducted into the prestigious Palanca Hall of Fame for winning his fifth First Prize Award this year.

The foundation also presented a posthumous award to Milagros Palanca-Furer, who is the proponent of the Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature. She was instrumental in helping spur creative writing in the country. 

First place winners this year include Marielle Calicdan (“Echo Mula Sa Gatilyo”) in Kabataan Sanaysay category, Enrico Miguel Pe Aguirre Perez (“Thoughts on Eden”) in Kabataan Essay, Eros Atalia (“Si Etot”) in Maikling Kuwento, Luis Gatmaitan (“Maselan ang Tanong ng Batang si Usman”) in Maikling Kuwentong Pambata, Marianne Mixkaela Villalon (“Form and Content: Sandata sa Panahon ng Disimpormasyon at War on Drugs”) in Sanaysay, and Lamberto Antonio (“Turno Kung Nokturno at iba pang Tiyempo ng Rilyebo sa Pagberso”) in Tula. 

Also besting the competition in their categories are John Romeo Venturero (“Ganito Sa Pabrika” - 2nd prize) in Tula Para Sa Mga Bata, Chona Fernando (“Beach House” - 2nd prize) in Dulang May Isang Yugto, Dustin Edward Celestino (“Ang Duyan ng Magiting”) in Dulang Ganap ang Haba, and Mary Honeylyn Joy Alipio (“Teatro Pacifico”) in Dulang Pampelikula. 

In the regional division, first prize winners are Roehl Joseph Dazo (“Binignit”) in Short Story Cebuano, Alice Tan Gonzales (“Si Ena sa Kasisidmon”) in Hiligaynon, and Edison Tobias (“El Quinto”) in Ilokano.

English division winners are Kathleen Osias (“James Machine”) in Short Story, Juanita Roxas Singer (“Pretty Peach and The Color-Matching Kaleidoscope”) in Short Story for Children, Jocelyn Nicolas (“The Age of the Missing”) in Essay, Regine Miren Cabato (“Notes from the Field”) in Poetry, Mia Buenaventura (“What Magical Fur is This? And Other Poems” - 3rd prize) in Poetry for Children, Peter Zaragoza Mayshle (“Dolorosa”) in One-Act Play, and Justin Michael Naniong (“Changelings”) in Full-length Play. 

69th Palanca Awards names winners, inducts Insiang co-writer into Hall of Fame
Winners of the 69th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature receive this medal
Novel winner is Reine Arcache Melvin for “The Betrayed,” while Nobela grand prize winner is Jerkin Guzman Pingol for “Agaw-anino.”

Topics: 69th Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature , Lamberto E. Antonio , Lino Brocka , Milagros Palanca-Furer
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.