29.6 C
Thursday, May 23, 2024

Robi Domingo hosts, Ice Seguerra directs The 4th EDDYS

- Advertisement -

On April 4, Easter Sunday, the best and brightest in Philippine movies for the year 2020 will be recognized in the 4th EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice).

The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) will present its choices in a virtual edition of the awards night, to livestream on Sunday at 8:00 p.m. on the FDCP Channel ( and SPEEd Facebook page, among other platforms.

Hosting the big night along with the members of SPEEd is award-winning Kapamilya star Robi Domingo.

VJ and television host Robin Domingo

In cooperation with the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) led by Chairperson/CEO Liza Diño-Seguerra, the 4th EDDYS will be directed by OPM icon and singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra.

The awards night will also be participated in by Batangas 6th District Representative at Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos and AKTOR Chairman of the Board Dingdong Dantes.

Rep. Vi, who was the first EDDYS best actress for the film, Everything About Her in 2017, will present the Best Actress award while 3rd EDDYS Best Actor Dingdong (Sid & Aya) will present the best actor.

In the Best Actress category, nominees Charlie Dizon (Fan Girl), Coleen Garcia (Mia), Bela Padilla (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets), Cristine Reyes (UnTrue), and Sylvia Sanchez (Coming Home) will vie for the trophy.

Actors who made it to the shortlist are John Arcilla (Suarez: The Healing Priest), Paulo Avelino (Fan Girl), Elijah Canlas (He Who Is Without Sin), Adrian Lindayag (The Boy Foretold By The Stars), and JC Santos (Motel Acacia).

Five films will compete for Best Picture honors: Fan Girl, Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story, He Who Is Without Sin, The Boy Foretold By The Stars, and UnTrue.

Among the directors, Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo (UnTrue), Antoinette Jadaone (Fan Girl), Jason Paul Laxamana (He Who Is Without Sin), Avid Liongoren (Hayop Ka! The Nimfa Dimaano Story) and Irene Emma Villamor (On Vodka, Beers and Regrets) will vie to get top honors in the 4th EDDYS. 

The EDDYS will also give recognition to stars and personalities who have contributed beyond measure to the entertainment industry.

The 2021 Icon awardees are Tommy Abuel, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Ronaldo Valdez, Direk Joel Lamangan, Ricky Lee and Caridad Sanchez.

Ice Seguerra (right) with FDCP chairman Liza Diño

The first Isah V. Red (IVR) Awards will be conferred this year in remembrance of SPEEd founding president Isah V. Red. 

The first IVR Award recipients are tycoon Ramon Ang, Senator Bong Revilla, actors Kim Chiu and Angel Locsin, corporate leader Claire de Leon-Papa and entrepreneur Rhea Anicoche-Tan.

To receive The EDDYS special awards are Lolit Solis (Joe Quirino Award); Mario Bautista (Manny Pichel Award); Blacksheep Productions (Rising Producers Circle Award); and The IdeaFirst Company (Producer of the Year Award).

Juancho Robles, managing partner of Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, is again the auditor of the 4th EDDYS.

Major sponsors are Toktok courier service/delivery app and Beautederm Corporation with support from House Speaker Lord Allan Velasco, Rep. Alfred Vargas, Rep. Niña Taduran (of Patrylist na ACT-CIS), Willie Revillame, Raffy Tulfo, Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot, San Miguel Corp., Aficionado of Joel Cruz, and Maris Pure Corp.

Register now at the FDCP Channel to get free access. Read full story on


Popular Articles