Escueta, Pantig win Prima men’s doubles’ crown

Philip Joper Escueta and Paul John Pantig won the men’s doubles’ open title, while Gelita Castilo and Eleanor Christine Inlayo ruled the women’s doubles open of the 12th Prima Pasta Badminton Championships recently at the Powersmash badminton courts in Makati City.

Escueta and Pantig displayed great teamwork to crush former men’s doubles’ open champion Peter Gabriel Magnaye and Alvin Morada, 22-20, 21-11, in the finale, while Castilo and Inlayo outplayed Patricia Barredo and Descka Calimlim, 21-14, 21-17, for the women’s crown.

In other doubles’ finals results, Anggy Sepdianto and Christian Bernardo bashed John Matthew Bernardo and Mike Minuluan, 21-11, 17-21, 17-14 (retired) to claim the men’s doubles A plum, while Jochelle Alvarez and Missy Cervantes whipped Dainelle Aubrey Masongsong and Jellene Geviane De Vera, 21-19, 21-11, for the women’s doubles’ B championship.

Andrea Abalos and Ghiselle Erica Bautista scored a come-from-behind win over Palma Maria Assumpta Cruz and Mikaela Joy Miranda De Guzman, 14-21, 21-14, 21-14, to take home the girls’ under-19 doubles crown. 

Jeno Carino and Nestojan Tapales defeated Zed Angel Monterubio and Mark Anthony Velasco, 22-24, 21-13, 21-16, to capture the boys’ U-19 doubles diadem of the tournament sanctioned by the Philippine Badminton Association.

The event was backed by SMART Communications, MVP Sports Foundation and APACS Makati, Boysen Paints, Morning Star Milling Corporation., Mabz Builders, ILO Construction, Monocrete Construction, Pioneer Insurance, Promax International, Regent Foods Corp., RFM Corp, Gardenia and Del Monte Phils.

Other level doubles’ champions were Joffre Arollado and Christian Bernardo (men’s B), Gilly Chavez and Almira Kristel Ramos (women’s C), Jeff Monton and Nephtali Pineda (men’s C), Myra Francisco and Aiza Pelagio Garcia (women’s D), Mark Lacson and Jeff Monton (men’s D), Erlene Bello and Ma. Luisa Gregorio (women’s D), John Russel Oliveros and Benjo Resurreccion (men’s E), Judith Espanola and Mariane Paez (women’s F), Mike Alayon and Jordan Lastimosa (men’s F) and Honey Ray Ambait and John Ray Balorio (men’s G).

Other age-group doubles’ champions were Patricia De Leon and Angel Valle (girls U-17), Maeve Paz and Kahrene Zapanta (girls U-15), Munir Bartolome and Nestojan Tapales (boys U-17) and Maverick Alcala and Zeth Javier Quiambao (boys U-15).

Topics: Philip Joper Escueta , Paul John Pantig , 12th Prima Pasta Badminton Championships , Gelita Castilo , Eleanor Christine Inlayo
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA