2018 World Slasher Cup starts today at Big Dome

ALL roads lead to the historic Big Dome as the biggest cockfighting event in the world gather the best of the best among local and international champions on Monday at the 2018 World Slasher Cup Invitational 9-Cock Derby. 

More than 300 sabong enthusiasts will vie for the most prestigious derby title and a couple of familiar names are raring to go all out at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum during the duration of the tourney from Jan. 29 to Feb. 7. 

WSC 2 2017 Triple champs Anthony Lim, Frank Berin and the Escolin Brothers have all signed up and geared for repeat wins, while other local fighters include cockfight idol Rep. Patrick Antonio, Boy Marzo, Doc Ayong Lorenzo, Biboy Enriquez Dicky Lim, James Uy, Paolo Malvar, Eddie Aparri, Art de Castro, Vice Mayor Jubee Navarro, Denny Salazar, and Joey Sy. 

Local bet and 2017 champ Frank Berin and veteran Lonnie Harper from Tennessee, USA,  do the ceremonial pitting of the roosters at the press conference of the 2018 World Slasher Cup Invitational 9-Cock Derby last Saturday at the Novotel Manila-Araneta Center, witnessed by the 2017 Binibining Pilipinas Queens. Local and international sabong champions will gather at the historic Smart Araneta Coliseum for the 2018 World Slasher Cup Invitational 9-Cock Derby that had its grand opening yesterday. A tough cast of more than 300 participants are vying for the most prestigious derby title known internationally. 
The international contingent, meanwhile, will beef up the competition hosted by Pintakasi of Champions and backed by Excellence Poultry & Livestock Specialists along with Manny Berbano’s PitGames Media Inc., as media partner. 

Among the returning champs are the powerhouse foreign teams bannered by Alabaman and WSC mainstay Ray Alexander. He is joined by Lonnie Harper of Mississippi as well as Mike Formosa from California. 

They will be joined by Roger Roberts and Larry Whitehead of Georgia, Wilber Le Blanc and Richard Harris of Louisiana, Jorge Goita, Zaldy Sandoval, and Rene Median of California; Kini Kalawaii and Butch Cambra of Hawaii; Nathan Jumper and Looney Parks of Mississippi; Randy Hall of Texas,; Owen Medina and Peter Elm of Guam; Ferdinand Macaraeg of Indonesia, and Rene Penalosa of Australia. 

Patrick Aisbeth and Bel Amojera from Florida will also heat up the event alongside Johnny Moore of Tennessee; Matthew Dunne of Alabama, James and Charles Wolf, Soan Sogianto of Indonesia; Joey Melendres and Greg Berin of Australia and Mark Salazar of Malaysia among others. 

Follow the WSC official website @ or the official Facebook page World Slasher Cup Official for more info, videos, photos, and other updates.

Topics: 2018 World Slasher Cup Invitational 9-Cock Derby , 2018 World Slasher Cup
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Working Pillars of the House