Arcilla, PJ Tierro march to last 16

Top seed Johnny Arcilla and No. 2 PJ Tierro shrugged off opening set threats to lead the siege of the fancied bets in the eighth Olivarez Cup Open Tennis Championship at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat, Parañaque on Sunday.

Arcilla, winner of three of the last three staging of the annual event featuring the country’s cream of the crop, wore down Raymund Diaz in the first set then imposed his will in the next to carve out a 7-5, 6-1 victory for a Last 16 duel with Arthur Pantino, who upended No. 14 John Altiche, 6-2, 6-4.

Tierro, on the other hand, bucked Bryan Saarenas’ tough stand in the early going and fashioned out a 6-4, 6-2 victory for a third round duel with No. 15 LA Canizares, who subdued Ed Parangan, 7-5, 6-0.

Unranked Rodolfo Barquin provided the spark in the third day of action in the week-long event, put up by Parañaque Mayor Edwin Olivarez along with Rep. Eric Olivarez and Dr. Pablo Olivarez as part of the family’s long-time commitment to boost the sport, outlasting No. 8 Marc Reyes, 6-3, 5-7, 14-12, to gain a spot in the upper half of the 64-player draw.

Johnny Arcilla
The top UE bet will next face Jan Seno, who advanced with a walkover win over No. 9 Bryan Otico in the tournament backed by Palawan Pawnshop, Stronghold Insurance, Milestone Guarantee Assurance Corp. and Sterling Insurance Company.

Others who rolled into the next round were Jason Patrombon, Marcus del Rosario, Rolando Ruel Jr., Ronard Joven, Leander Lazaro, Jose Cano, Eric “Jed” Olivarez, Vicente Anasta, Fritz Verdad and Deo Talatayod.

The third-ranked Patrombon ripped Neil Co, 6-1, 6-1; del Rosario trounced Noel Damian Jr., 6-2, 6-2; Ruel held off Calvin Canlas, 6-4, 6-4; No. 6 Joven thwarted Mark Alcoseba, 7-6(5), 6-1; fifth seed Lazaro ousted Kristian Tesorio, 6-3, 3-0(ret.); Olivarez routed Francis Alcantara, 6-3, 6-0; No. 4 Anasta downed Dave Mosqueda, 6-4, 6-2; No. 7 Verdad toppled Jordan Cimafranca, 6-3, 6-1; and Talatayod survived Wilson Oblea, 6-3, 7-5(3).

Defending three-time women’s singles champion Khim Iglupas also breezed through in the Last 16 in their side of the event, crushing Erika Manduriao, 6-0, 6-0, with top seed and last year’s runner-up Clarice Patrimonio bundling out Cianna Villafor, 6-1, 6-0.

No. 3 Jade Capadocia likewise scored a 6-0, 6-0 romp over Nicole Bautista; fourth ranked Christine Patrimonio toppled Toni Rose Raymundo, 6-0, 6-1; No. 5 Shaira Rivera eased past Katrina Hernandez, 6-0, 6-0; and sixth seed Rachelle de Guzman scored a walkover win over Karamina Atangan.

Joining the seeded bets into the next round are Bliss Bayking, Mary Grace Melchor, Alexi Santos, Sydney Enriquez, Chloe Saraza, Patricia Velez and Charito Capadocia.

Bayking rapped Bea Ebriega, 6-1, 6-2; Melchor trampled Bea Gomez, 6-1, 6-3; Santos blasted Justine Manela, 6-3, 6-2; Enriquez won by default over Krizzhan Dumlao; Saraza foiled Yoshi Noguchi, 7-5, 4-6, 10-8; Velez routed Rafaella Villanueva, 6-3, 6-0; and Capadocia also scored a walkover win over Noriko Yamada.

Topics: Johnny Arcilla , PJ Tierro , Olivarez Cup Open Tennis Championship
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.