Ravena leads collegiate awards winners

In a season of excellent individual performers, Ateneo’s Thirdy Ravena was second to none.

After bannering the Blue Eagles to their second-straight UAAP title, Ravena is set to be named the Collegiate Player of the Year in the 2019 Chooks-To-Go Collegiate Press Corps Awards Night presented by SportsVision today Monday, May 27 at the Amelie Hotel in Ermita, Manila.

By snagging the top individual plum given by the reporters covering the beat, Ravena joined the likes of his brother Kiefer, Mac Belo, Jeron Teng, Robert Bolick and Ben Mbala in the list of the players who’ve taken home the coveted award.

Ateneo De Manila University’s Thirdy Ravena gives the thumbs up sign after leading his squad to a second consecutive UAAP basketball title.
The second-generation star performed in a finals series to remember, averaging 29.5 points, eight rebounds and 7.5 assists as the Blue Eagles waylaid the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons. That playoff looked more like a coronation for the newest King Eagle.

Ravena will be joined by the likes of San Beda’s Robert Bolick, Perpetual’s Prince Eze and University of the Philippines’ Bright Akhuetie and Paul Desiderio for this year’s All-Collegiate team.

Ravena’s coach, Tab Baldwin will also be named as the UAAP Coach of the Year, while San Beda’s Boyet Fernandez will be named the NCAA coach of the year for the fifth time in the annual festivities also supported by Amelie Hotel Manila, Rain or Shine, NorthPort, World Balance, Arellano University, AXA Team Eds, and NBL.

For the first time in history, the Press Corps will also be giving out the SportsVision Volleyball Players of the Year award to the standout performers of the UAAP and the NCAA.

University of Santo Tomas’ Sisi Rondina will get the distinction as the first ever UAAP Volleyball Player of the Year for willing the Golden Tigresses to the Finals.  Arellano’s Regine Arocha, on the other hand, will be named the NCAA Volleyball Player of the Year after winning back the trophy for the Lady Chiefs.

The 2019 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Press Corps Awards presented by SportsVision will be aired live over the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas and Tiebreaker Times Facebook accounts.

Topics: Thirdy Ravena , Collegiate Player of the Year , 2019 Chooks-To-Go Collegiate Press Corps Awards Night
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.