9 boys, 20 girls top Jr NBA selection camp

Nine boys and 20 girls topped the final Regional Selection Camp of Jr. NBA Philippines 2019 held April 27 and 28 at the Don Bosco Technical Institute in Makati, which will also serve as the venue for the National Training Camp on May 17 to 19.  

The young athletes, selected by Jr. NBA Coaches Rob Newson and Alaska’s Jeffrey Cariaso, Tony dela Cruz and Willie Miller, stood out from the 591 participants, exhibiting fundamental skills and core values of Sportsmanship, Teamwork, a positive Attitude and Respect (S.T.A.R.) throughout the two-day event. They will join top players from the Regional Selection Camps in North Luzon (Benguet), South Luzon (Lucena), Visayas (Dumaguete) and Mindanao (Butuan) and a select group from the Alaska Power Camp and vie to be named as 2019 Jr. NBA Philippines All-Stars comprised of five boys and five girls.

9 boys, 20 girls top Jr NBA selection camp
Jr. NBA Philippines participants show their skills in an actial game.
 New this year, the Jr. NBA Philippines All-Stars will be sent to the first Jr. NBA Global Championship Asia Pacific Selection Camp, a week-long camp in June that includes top youth players from the Asia-Pacific region excluding China.  

In addition, the Asia-Pacific regional competition will form a team of 10 boys and 10 girls that will represent the region at the Jr. NBA Global Championship on Aug. 6 to 11 at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World near Orlando, Florida that will feature youth players from the United States, Canada, Latin America, Europe, the Middle East, China, Mexico, Africa, India and the Asia-Pacific.

Jr. NBA Philippines 2019 is presented by Alaska, with AXA, Gatorade, Globe, Panasonic, Rexona and Vivo as official partners. ABS-CBN S+A, Basketball TV and NBA Premium TV are the official broadcasters of Jr. NBA Philippines.

 Participants can now register for the Jr. NBA program online at, and follow Jr. NBA on Facebook and the NBA at and on Facebook and Twitter.  

Fans can visit to learn more about Alaska Milk Corporation, and follow Alaska Milk on Facebook for more information about Alaska Sports.


James Yuan Ison, La Salle Greenhills; Joshua Minguillo, Panorama Montessori School Binan Laguna; Daniel Padilla, Nazareth School of National University; Hikaru Policarpio, Bacood Elementary School; Sebastian Roy Reyes; Nazareth School of National University; Lanze  Ronquillo, San Beda University; Marc Kerby Samson, Panorama Montessori School Binan Laguna; Syrex June Silorio, Nazareth School of National University; Elijah Ray Yusi and Nazareth School of National University


Sophia Amol, De La Salle Zobel; Crisciona Ann Bagasani, San Sebastian College; Franchesca Isabela Buenvenida, Mother of Divine Providence School; Dancylle Gabrealene Busime, Gulod National High School; Leanne Jazmine Catalan, Arandia College; Ciara Centeno, Eulogio Rodriguez Integrated School; Merylle Cuasay, Oriental Mindoro National High School; 

Mikaela Francesca Galauran, St. Paul College Pasig; Ysabela  Louise Gonzales, St. Paul College Pasig; Jay Anne Marie Lachica, Sta. Clara Parish School; Kyla Marie Mataga, De La Salle Zobel; Dianne Camille Nolasco, Miriam College; Rochelle Omalin, De La Salle Zobel; Frances Maxine Pamintuan, UST-Angelicum College; Ellen Parane, Tandang Sora Integrated School; Aaliyah Mai Reyes, St. Paul College Pasig; Kharel Joy Siapoc, La Salle College Antipolo; Erika Nadine Tenorio, School of the Holy Spirit of Quezon City; Justine Mhyrra Vibanco, Saint Joseph Parish School; Princess Villarin, De La Salle Zobel

Topics: Regional Selection Camp , Jr. NBA Philippines 2019
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1