Petron battles McDavid while St Clare meets Batangas-EAC

Petron-Letran eyes to make it back-to-back wins when it collides with winless McDavid in the 2019 PBA D-League on Monday at Paco Arena.

The Knights are coming off a huge 108-91 victory over AMA Online Education last March 5, giving new head coach Bonnie Tan his first win at the helm.

And a big reason for that is the stellar showing of his front court, with Larry Muyang, Christian Fajarito, and Jeo Ambohot forming what’s possibly one of the fiercest frontline in college basketball today.

“Very talented itong mga big man na ito,” the soft-spoken mentor said.

That bodes well for Petron-Letran, which is also expecting big numbers from super scorer Alvin Pasaol and recovering guard Jerrick Balanza.

Tip-off is at 2 p.m. in this Aspirants Group clash, which will be followed by surprise leader St. Clare College Virtual Reality (2-0) looking for its third straight win against Batangas-EAC (1-2) at 4 p.m.

McDavid, meanwhile, is just hell-bent on ending its two-game skid, losing to Batangas-EAC, 79-57 last Feb. 28.

Head coach Allen Ricardo is hoping that the 18-day break worked in favor of his boys, with Rev Diputado and Michole Sorela showing promise for the veteran-laden squad.

The PBA D-League, is the Philippine Basketball Association’s official minor league basketball organization.

The PBA D-League was conceptualized after the collapse of the proposed merger between the Philippine Basketball League (PBL) and Liga Pilipinas after the staging of the Tournament of the Philippines which was composed by PBL and Liga Pilipinas teams. 

The maiden tournament, named “Foundation Cup” began on March 12, 2011 at the Filoil Flying V Arena in San Juan. 

The tournament was composed of 13 teams, with five teams (Junior Powerade, NLEX, Maynilad, Freego and Cafe France) having affiliation with existing PBA teams.

Four teams (Cobra Energy Drink, Agri-Nature Inc./FCA, Pharex, and Cafe France) from the Philippine Basketball League filed for application in the PBA D-League, when they failed to acquire a sixth team in order to smoothly run the league. The NLEX Road Warriors became the champions of the tournament, winning two games to none against the Cebuana Lhuillier Gems.

Topics: ​Petron-Letran , McDavid , 2019 PBA D-League , Larry Muyang , Christian Fajarito , Jeo Ambohot , Alvin Pasaol , Jerrick Balanza

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1