All set for GSM Tapang ng Tatluhan cage finale

This summer, Ginebra San Miguel, manufacturer of the world’s number one selling gin, embarked in a journey on finding the best and most talented 3x3 basketball team all across the country. 

From the 16 hotly-contested regional tournaments, only the best of the best survived to represent their respective provinces for the coveted Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Basketball Champions to be crowned in Metro Manila.  

The first regional champions came from Taguig when Team Tenorio, represented by Jhon Jurilla, Moses Mercano, Barrio Orodio and Mark Yabes defeated Team  Jamito (16 – 12) in the finals last April 14 at the Western Bicutan Tenement Basketball Court in Lower Bicutan. 

Since then, the action has been nothing less but intense in the succeeding legs nationwide. 

Team Cebu will be represented by Team Dela Cruz comprised of Jestony Bacla-an, Erbin John Conahap, Fritz Errylson Dajalos and Jarey Ceniza as they were able to withstand the late rally of Team Thompson with a final score of 20-16 last April 28 at Barangay Mabolo. 

Tacloban showcased the best of the best of Eastern Visayas when Team Jamito made up of Aldrin Valdemoro, Jeo Cajanop, Rey John Badilla and Edman Claro escaped with a nail-biting 14-13 win over Team Dela Cruz last May 5.

Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 tournament then headed to Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija wherein the heated matchup between Team Tenorio, represented by Joeb Cabunoc, Nielson Caducio, Alexander Satumba and Rogelio Raqueno and Team Jamito was decided in the last seconds with the former winning 15-14 last May 12. 

Meanwhile, the Laguna leg showed us that the province never lacked in talent when Team R. Aguilar made up of Archibald Natividad, Leomel Flavier, Andrew Albo and John Lester Maurillo beat Team J. Aguilar in a shootout, 20-18 last May 24.

San Fernando Pampanga and Lucena Quezon capped off the Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 regional tournaments last June 2 with thrilling victories by Team Slaughter and Team Caguioa respectively completing the cast for the national championships. 

The National Championship Tournament will be held at Robinsons Place Manila this coming June 15. 

The last two teams standing after the National Championships in Manila will get a once in a lifetime opportunity to showcase their talent in front of a capacity crowd at Araneta Coliseum on June 17 before the highly anticipated Manila Classico match-up between Barangay Ginebra San Miguel versus the Magnolia Hotshots. The 2018 Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Tapang ng Tatluhan Champion will be taking home P50,000 cash prize with the runner-up receiving a consolation prize of P25,000.  

Topics: Ginebra San Miguel 3x3 Basketball Champions , National Championship Tournament , Basketball

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1