8 PH cyclists bound for London

A crack group of cyclists will be carrying the Philippine flag in the Prudential RideLondon on July 28 and 29 in the capital of the United Kingdom, where more than 100,000 participants are expected to answer the starting gun.

PH cyclists get a toast from their Pru Life benefactors during their send-off party.
The Philippine Team, composed of Jermyn Prado, Ismael Grospe, Jeremy Maraña, and Aidan Mendoza was sent off by the sponsoring PruLife at the Brewery at The Palace in Taguig City, Thursday.

Brompton Challenge winner Jun Minagawa, Pru Life UK employee and cycling hobbyist Ryan Lamayo, together with PRUride PH 2018 raffle winners John Kenneth Cruz and Bertrand Tepltixky, will be joining the cycling group.

A double-gold national champion for winning both of PRUride PH 2018’s Philippine National Road Race Championships Women’s Elite and Criterium Women’s Elite, Prado of Standard Insurance will be representing the country in the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 100-mile event.

On the other hand, 18-year-old Grospe of Go For Gold and who’s a cycling national champion for winning PRUride PH 2018’s Philippine National Road Race Championship Men’s Elite U-23, will make a return trip to London this year as he will join for Prudential RideLondon-Surrey 46-mile event.

Team Corratec’s Maraña and Mendoza, who won the championship in the Individual Time Trial Women’s U-23 and the Criterium Men’s U-23 respectively, will be competing in the 46-mile event as well.

All the riders are expected to make a good account of themselves to represent the country, expressing their anticipation over the opportunity given to them.

“I hope I can beat my target time,” said the 24-year-old Prado. “It’s my first time to go to London. I’m super excited.”

Maraña, the youngest among the group,  was excited as well. “This is my dream. Before, I just wanted to be part of the National Team, and now I’m finally here.”

Prudential RideLondon 2018 is considered as the world’s biggest cycling festival.

Topics: rudential RideLondon , Jermyn Prado , Ismael Grospe , Jeremy Maraña , Aidan Mendoza , Jun Minagawa , Ryan Lamayo , John Kenneth Cruz , Bertrand Tepltixky
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1