Nocos wins 3 Cebuana titles

Tiffany Claire Nocos from Lapu-lapu City, Cebu went 3 of 3 at the recent Surigao City leg of the 2018 Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Championship Series, winning both the girls’ 14-under and 16-under singles’ titles and a share of the 14-under doubles’ crown.

Nocos took the 14-under title at the expense of local bet Bianca Pateno, winning 6-0, 6-1, then shocked perennial winner and San Carlos City, Negros Occidental native Bliss Bayking, 7-5, 2-6, 10-6.

In the doubles’ event, she partnered with erstwhile rival Pateno and swept aside the duo of Leane Heart Escopete and Ezamae Boquilon in the tournament backed by Dunlop as the official ball.

“I would not be surprised to see this girl making it good in the future and going all the way to the national team. Cebu is a regular source of provincial tennis talents  that we are discovering through this annual series,” said Jean Henri Lhuillier, President/CEO of Cebuana Lhuillier Group that has been bankrolling the grassroots tennis developmental program the past 12 years.

Bayking maintained her hold though on the girls’ 18-under as she beat Butuan City’s Angelly Esguerra, 6-4, 6-2, in the finals and together with Shedel Aighey Gica, overpowered the duo of Ellaine Rose Bahonsua and Esguerra, 8-6, for the 18-under doubles’ crown. 

Joining Bayking as double winner was Ozamis City’s Ashton Benne Villanueva,  who posted a come-from-behind 0-6, 6-4, 10-6 win over Zamboanga del Norte entry Dwayne Russel Daarol for the boys’ 14-under title and shared with Rupert Ohrelle Tortal the 14-under doubles’ crown with an 8-6 win over Daarol and John Vhristopher Sonsona.

Local bet Vaughn Spencer Codilla joined the elite list as he edged out Jan Carlo Mari from Agusan del Sur, 6-4, 3-6, 10-7, in the finals of the boys’ 18-under and added the 18-under doubles’ title with partner Lex Estillore as they defeated Bon Lloyd Cahon and Caesar Paqueo, 8-6, in the championship match. 

Tortal went home with the boys’ 16-under title with a 6-2, 6-0 beating  of Sonsona,

Other winners were Agusan del Sur’s Dave Hurtado in the boys’ 12-under as he prevailed over another Agusan del Sur bet Joemer Manzanadez, 6-1, 6-3, while Kobe Luzon added another reason for local folks to be disappointed  after winning the 10-under unisex title  with a 4-2, 4-0 win over Surigao City’s  CJ Cerezo.

Surigao del Norte’s Chaim Larase emerged champion in the girls’ 12-under with  a 6-2, 6-3 win over Boquilon.

Topics: Tiffany Claire Nocos , 2018 Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Championship Series , Bayking , Bliss Bianca Pateno
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.