MS 30th Anniversary XXX

Best Center opens 28th SBP-Passerelle season

SBP-Passerelle twin tournaments, the country’s most prestigious interschool basketball competition for kids kicks off its 28th season this July. Organized by the MILO-sponsored BEST Center, this year’s season promises to be another exciting tournament with 600 players from 40 teams participating in the games. The competition starts this Sunday and will run for three months with kids 9-11 years old vying for the SBP trophy and kids 12-14 years old playing for the Passerelle trophy. Defending their titles are the two La Salle Greenhills teams, which won both the SBP and Passerelle championship last season. The NCR regional finals is set for Sept. 22 at the Ateneo de Manila University. For the first time, the games will be telecast live on the Solar Sports channel. Up next is the Visayas regional finals happening on Oct. 12 and 13 in Iloilo, the Mindanao regional finals on Oct. 26 and 27 in Davao, and finally, the Luzon regional finals on Nov.  9 and 10 in Pampanga. The regional champions will then compete for the 2013 SBP-Passerelle championship title on Nov. 23 and 24 in Pampanga. Started in 1985, the SBP-Passerelle twin tournaments is organized by the BEST Center to provide aspiring young players a platform to showcase their basketball skills on a national level, as well as foster camaraderie and sportsmanship among the participating schools, the players and parents. For more information, please call the BEST Center hotlines 411-6260 or 372-3065, or visit BEST Center Sports Inc. on Facebook. Now on its 28th season, the SBP–Passerelle is organized by The BEST Center and  has produced the likes of PBA Philippine Cup finals Most Valuable Player Larry Fonacier, SMART-Gilas Pilipinas captain Chris Tiu, Powerade Tigers all-star guard JV Casio and reigning PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals MVP James Yap. Celebrating 35 years of producing basketball legends, the Best Center is the pioneer scientific sports clinic in the country and was cited with an Olympism Award by the Philippine Olympic Committee, and installed in the Hall of Fame by the Philippine Sportswriters Association.
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.