Editors’ group unveils 3rd EDDYS nominees

Five films racked up top nominations for this year’s edition of EDDYS, an annual awarding ceremony organized by the Society of Philippines Entertainment Editors (SPEEd).

Editors’ group unveils 3rd EDDYS nominees
Kathryn Bernardo, Gloria Romero, and Nadine Lustre
In the awards night happening in July, LGBT-themed Rainbow's Sunset leads with 12 nominations followed by crime drama Citizen Jake and indie film Signal Rock with 10 apiece, and historical film Goyo: Ang Batang Heneral with nine nods. Liway, which is based on true events, has six nominations. 

Seasoned filmmakers Chito Roño (Signal Rock), Jerrold Tarog (Goyo), Joel Lamangan (Rainbow’s Sunset), Kip Oebanda (Liway), and Mike de Leon (Citizen Jake) are vying for best director plum.

In the best actress race, senior actress Gloria Romero is nominated against young thespians Angelica Panganiban (Exes Baggage), Glaiza de Castro (Liway), Judy Ann Santos (Ang Dalawang Mrs Reyes),  Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us), Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You) and Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny).

Editors’ group unveils 3rd EDDYS nominees
Glaiza de Castro, Sarah Geronimo, Angelica Panganiban, and Judy Anne Santos
Meanwhile, it’s also a tight race among big-screen stalwart Eddie Garcia (Rainbow’s Sunset) and A-list actors Piolo Pascual (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw), Carlo Aquino (Exes Baggage), Christian Bables (Signal Rock), Daniel Padilla (The Hows of Us), Dingdong Dantes (Sid & Aya), and Paolo Contis (Through Night & Day) in the best actor category. 

Six special awards will be given out during the big night: The Joe Quirino Award will be handed to TV-radio host-columnist Cristy Fermin; Manny Pichel Award will be given to entertainment columnist and talent manager Ethel Ramos; Rising Producers’ Circle will be awarded to Spring Films and T-Rex Entertainment; Producer of the Year will go to  Star Cinema; Lifetime Achievement Award for director Elwood Perez; and a recognition will be given posthumously to the late Comedy King, Dolphy.

The EDDYS or The Entertainment Editors’ Choice is considered a game changer in the history of movie awards in the Philippines. Since its inception in 2017, it has easily positioned itself as a significant element of the film industry. Relatively new in recognizing deserving craftsmen, actors, writers, and directors, it instantly became one of the most distinguished film awards due to its large diversity among the chosen titles.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and tabloids circulated daily nationwide. 

The non-profit organization established in 2015 is led by Ian F. Farinas as president and Isah V. Red as chairman emeritus.

Below is the full list of nominees in this year’s edition of EDDYS:


1. Citizen Jake (Cinema Artists Philippines)

2. Goyo (TBA Studios, Artikulo Uno Productions & Globe Studios)

3. Liway (Alemberg Ang)

4. Rainbow's Sunset (Heaven’s Best Entertainment)

5. Signal Rock (CSR Productions & Regal Entertainment)


1. Mike de Leon (Citizen Jake)

2. Joel Lamangan (Rainbow’s Sunset)

3. Kip Oebanda (Liway)

4. Chito Roño (Signal Rock)

5. Jerrold Tarog (Goyo)


1. Kathryn Bernardo (The Hows of Us)

2. Glaiza de Castro (Liway)

3. Sarah Geronimo (Miss Granny)

4. Nadine Lustre (Never Not Love You)

5. Angelica Panganiban (Exes Baggage)

6. Gloria Romero (Rainbow’s Sunset)

7. Judy Ann Santos (Ang Dalawang Mrs. Reyes) 


1. Carlo Aquino (Exes Baggage)

2.  Christian Bables (Signal Rock)

3. Paolo Contis (Through Night & Day)

4. Dingdong Dantes (Sid & Aya)

5. Eddie Garcia (Rainbow’s Sunset)

6. Daniel Padilla (The Hows of Us)

7. Piolo Pascual (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw)


1. Pinky Amador (Ang Panahon ng Halimaw)

2. Max Collins (Citizen Jake)

3. Sunshine Dizon (Rainbow’s Sunset)

4. Cherie Gil (Citizen Jake)

5. Aiko Melendez (Rainbow's Sunset)

6. Daria Ramirez (Signal Rock)

7. Nova Villa (Miss Granny)


1. Adrian Alandy (Citizen Jake)

2. Arjo Atayde (Buyouts)

3. Tirso Cruz III (Rainbow’s Sunset)

4. Ricky Davao (Kasal)

5. Joross Gamboa (Dalawang Mrs. Reyes)

6. Tony Labrusca (ML)

7. Tony Mabesa (Rainbow’s Sunset)


1. Zig Dulay (Liway)

2. Noel Pascual, Mike de Leon, Atom Arnulfo (Citizen Jake)

3. Eric Ramos (Rainbow’s Sunset)

4. Jerrold Tarog, Rody Vera (Goyo)

5. Rody Vera (Signal Rock)


1. Did Buhay (Citizen Jake) 

2. Mycko David (Never Not Love You)

3. Neil Daza (Signal Rock)

4. Pong Ignacio (Goyo)

5. Yam Laranas (Aurora)

6. Pao Orendain (Sid & Aya)


1. Aurora 

2. BuyBust

3. Goyo

4. Miss Granny

5. Signal Rock

6. Through Night and Day


1. Arlene Florida Calvo (Exes Baggage)

2. Len Calvo (Sid & Aya)

3. Oscar Fogelstrom (Aurora)

4. Paulo Protacio (Bakwit Boys)

5. Jerrold Tarog (Goyo)

6. Emerzon Texon, (Meet Me In St. Gallen)


1. Mike Guison (Citizen Jake)

2. Roy Lachica (Goyo)

3. Ericsson Navarro, Danny Red (Aurora)

4. Mark Saab’s (Signal Rock)

5. Aped Santos (Liway)

6. Norico Santos (The Hows of Us)


1. Mai Calapardo (Rainbow’s Sunset)

2. George Centeno, Tom Estrera (Citizen Jake)

3. Carlo Francisco Manatad (Signal Rock)

4. Carlo Francisco Manatad (Sid & Aya)

5. Chuck Gutierrez (Liway)

6. Jerrold Tarog (Goyo)


1. Heartbeats (Performed by Jem Cubil and Andrea Babierra, Sid & Aya)

2. Isa Pang Araw (Performed by Sarah Geronimo, Miss Granny)

3. Ligtas Ka Na (Sean Oliver, Bakwit Boys )

4. Maybe the Night (Ben & Ben, Exes Baggage)

5. Sa’yo Na (Performed by Ice Seguerra, Rainbow’s Sunset)

6. Susi (Ben & Ben, Goyo) 


1. Noong Buencamino (Citizen Jake) 

2. Alan Carl, Pierre Marco, and Javier (Bakwit Boys)

3. Jason Conanan, Daryl Libongco, and Mikko Quizon (Meet Me in St. Gallen)

4. Albert Michael Idioma (Aurora)

5. Albert Michael Idioma (Signal Rock)

6. Alex Tomboc, Albert Michael Idioma (Rainbow’s Sunset)


Joe Quirino Award, Cristy Fermin

Manny Pichel Award, Ethel Ramos

Producer of the Year, Star Cinema

Rising Producers’ Circle, Spring Films and T-Rex Entertainment

Lifetime Achievement Award, Elwood Perez 

Posthumous Award, Dolphy

Topics: EDDYS , Society of Philippines Entertainment Editors , Rainbow's Sunset , Citizen Jake
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1