Ebdane party gains new adherents

Forty-eight new members, most of whom come from the local opposition, were sworn into the Sulong Zambales Party recently, Sept. 29, at the Balin Sambali hotel as party chairman Gov. Hermogenes Ebdane Jr. proclaimed the party’s official slate.

The Sulong Zambales Party was launched by Ebdane in 2012 to unite various political camps here under a common platform of progress and development.

“In unity there is power, and power speeds up reaction for change,” Ebdane said in his speech during the oathtaking ceremony and proclamation.

The candidates, according to Ebdane, were chosen during the just-concluded two-day party convention. Members endorsed candidates for winnability and excellence in administrative record.

Under the Sulong Zambales Party, Ebdane will be seeking reelection, along with incumbent Vice Gov. Ramon Lacban II and Congressman Jeffrey Khonghun of the Zambales 1st District. Former 2nd District Rep. Jun Omar Ebdane will also be fielded in May 2016.

Among the local political bigwigs who joined Ebdane’s party are incumbent San Antonio town Mayor Estela Antipolo, a sister of former Gov. Amor Deloso, Ebdane’s rival in the last two elections;

incumbent Castillejos Mayor Jose Angelo Dominguez, from the camp of former Gov. Vicente Magsaysay; and incumbent provincial board members  Jury Deloso, a nephew of ex-Gov. Deloso, and Noel Ferrer, a lawyer from the Deloso Camp.

Of the 48 new members, sizeable new following came from the towns of San Antonio and Castillejos where seven of those gunning for municipal positions ran under a different banner during the 2013 polls, as well as in San Marcelino and Masinloc where it gained five non-party members each for SZP slate.

Ebdane, who founded the SZP in 2012 before he sought reelection for the gubernatorial post, said the local party incorporates the aspirations of Zambaleños for community development and local empowerment.

“The Sulong Zambales Party [is meant] to be our guiding light as we collectively work together for economic, political, and social reforms while maintaining the policies and agenda that will advance the interest of the province and the welfare of the Zambaleños,” Ebdane said.

“May you not forget that the interest of the province comes first,” he told the party members at the proclamation event.

The official SZP candidates, the governor added, are sworn to uphold the ideals of the party and, as elected officials, will be guided by the principles of good governance, responsibility and accountability.

 During the occasion, Ebdane also led the members in signing the party manifesto.

 For the provincial board, the SZP bets are: incumbent board members Jonathan Khonghun, Jose Gutierrez Jr., Sancho Abasta Jr., Samuel Ablola, Renato Collado, Noel Ferrer, and Jury Deloso; Subic municipal councilor Wilfredo Felarca Jr.; Masinloc municipal councilor Rolex Estrella; and Liga ng mga Barangay president Romelino Gojo.

On the other hand, the party’s pick for the mayoralty posts are: Luisito Marty, for the town of Santa Cruz; Napoleon Edquid, Candelaria; Jessu Edora, Masinloc; Melchor Amog, Palauig; Jun Rundstedt Ebdane, for the capital town of Iba; Doris Maniquiz-Jeresano, Botolan; Jocelyn Apostol, Cabangan; Carolyn Fariñas, San Felipe; Peter Lim, San Narciso; Estela Antipolo, San Antonio; Von Rodriguez, San Marcelino; Jose Angelo Dominguez, Castillejos; and Jefferson Khonghun, Subic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.