MS 30th Anniversary XXX

LGU execs now civil service eligible

The Civil Service Commission issued on Monday the implementing rules and regulations of Republic Act 10156, which would grant civil service eligibility to provincial board members and city/municipal councilors, also known as Sanggunian Members of the local government units. Under the law, the eligibility may be granted to sanggunian members if they meet the required number of years of service and are college degree holders. The Sanggunian First Level Eligibility is equivalent to a Career Service Sub-Professional Eligibility and is granted to Sanggunian Members who have served for an aggregate period of six years and have completed at least 72 academic units leading to a bachelor’s degree. The Sanggunian Second Level Eligibility corresponds to a Career Service Professional Eligibility and may be granted to Sanggunian Members who have served for an aggregate period of nine years and completed a bachelor’s degree. Members of the Sangguniang Bayan, Panlungsod and Panlalawigan who have been elected after the effectivity of the Local Government Code of 1991 (R.A. 7160) or on May 11, 1992 onwards and have met the requirements are entitled to SME. Under the guidelines, the prescriptive period for Sanggunian Members who have completed six or nine years of service is within five years from the effectivity of the IRR or in May  2013. For those elected in the May 2013 elections, the prescriptive period shall be within two years upon completion of the required number of years of service. “The computation of the aggregate years of service of a Sanggunian Member shall be based on the actual number of years of service per official records of the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) and its regional offices,” CSC chair Francisco Duque III said in a statement. The number of years of service of a Sanggunian Member in any and in one or more positions may be accumulated for the purpose of computing and completing the required aggregate number of years of service.” Duque clarified though that Sanggunian Members who were not elected would not be eligible for SME. Such councilors commonly include sectoral councilors (as enabled by an ordinance), head of the local Association of Barangay Council, or head of the local Sangguniang Kabataan Federation.
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.