GMA Network wins at PMPC's Star for M-TV Awards

posted October 27, 2016 at 05:40 pm
by  Isah V. Red
GMA Network received honors from the Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) at the recently concluded Star For M-TV Awards: The Fusion Of Philippine Entertainment’s Best held at Novotel.

The Network was given a number of recognitions for its quality entertainment programs.

Kapuso Ultimate Star Jennylyn Mercado was one of the night’s biggest winners as she went home with the Best Drama Actress award for My Faithful Husband.

Versatile actress Sunshine Dizon received the Best Drama Supporting Actress award for Little Nanay.

One of GMA Artist Center’s multi-talented leading men Kristoffer Martin once again proved his acting prowess as he took home the Best Single Performance By An Actor award for Magpakailanman’s “Mag-ama Sa Bilangguan.”

The first ever reality sitcom on television starred by award-winning actor Michael V. Pepito Manaloto, won this year’s Best Comedy Show. Manilyn Reynes, one of Pepito Manaloto’s lead stars, won Best Comedy Actress.

Kapuso's Ultimate Star Jennylyn Mercado wins the top honor in the acting category alongside Sunshine Dizon (top) who walks home bagged the Best Drama Supporting Actress trophy
The sixth season of GMA 7’s reality search Starstruck bagged the Best Talent Search Program award.

Comedian Jose Manalo, in turn, won Best Comedy Actor for the weekend sitcom Hay, Bahay!

Winning the Best New Male TV Personality award was Jake Ejercito for Eat Bulaga’s Lenten special, “God Gave Me You.”

The weekly sitcom “Pepito Manaloto,” this year’s PMPC Best Comedy show
Kapuso comedy noontime show, Sunday Pinasaya, was recognized as Best Variety Show while Willie Revillame’s top-rating show Wowowin was awarded the Best Game Show.

Several GMA News and Public Affairs shows and personalities also took home awards that night.

GMA’s primetime flagship news program 24 Oras was hailed as this year’s Best News Program. One of its anchors, GMA News pillar Vicky Morales, was recognized as Best Female Newscaster, in turn.

Winning the Best Morning Show award is the country’s longest-running morning show, Unang Hirit.

Meanwhile, GMA News TV’s internationally-acclaimed documentary program Reel Time is PMPC’s choice for the Best Documentary Program.

Veteran investigative journalist Malou Mangahas was named Best Documentary Program Host for Investigative Documentaries.

Biyahe ni Drew and program host Drew Arellano were once again hailed as Best Travel Show and Best Travel Show Host, respectively.

Gandang Ricky Reyes has been awarded again as this year’s Best Lifestyle Show.

Meanwhile, GMA Artist Center stars continue to make wave in the music industry as Pambansang Bae Alden Richards won all his four nominations including Pop Album of the Year, Male Pop Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Song of the Year for his album Wish I May, under GMA Records.

Another Kapuso heartthrob who received his first recording award is Derrick

(from top) Best Comedy Actor Jose Manalo, Best New Male Recording Artist of the Year Derrick Monasterio, Kristoffer Martin (Best Single Performance by an Actor) and Alden Richards, the most decorated Kapuso star during the PMPC event
Monasterio, who took home the Best New Male Recording Artist of the Year award.

Both artists won for their respective self-titled debut albums under GMA Records.

Meanwhile, T.O.P. has proven its promise as a boy band after winning the Duo/Group of the Year award. 


Yen Santos returns on television and joins the cast of ABS-CBN primetime series Magpahanggang Wakas beginning this week.

Her feisty and outspoken character Issa made its first appearance on Oct 21 and instantly got into a heated argument with Waldo (Jericho Rosales). The two accidentally exchanged envelopes containing their resumes that prompted them to meet again.

What role will Issa play in Waldo’s life?  Will she finally help Waldo move on and forget about Aryann (Arci Munoz)?

Meanwhile, as Tristan (John Estrada) and Aryann continue to make their relationship work, Aryann once again got a glimpse of her one true love.

Topics: Jennylyn Mercado , Sunshine Dizon , Kristoffer Martin , Michael V. , Manilyn Reynes , Jose Manalo , Jake Ejercito , Willie Revillame , Vicky Morales , Malou Mangahas , Dre Arellano , Alden Richards , Derrick Monasterio , T.O.P. , Yen Santos , Jericho Rosales , Magpahangg
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.