MS 30th Anniversary XXX

Honoring the ‘doers’

The Do More Awards aims to recognize Filipino achievers, who are not just celebrities but people who like to move and shake things, so to speak.

Rexona in partnership with Rappler, held the first ever Do More Awards at the Rizal Ballroom of the Makati Shangri-La. Hosted by KC Montero and Apples Aberin, the event served as a tribute to Filipinos who have taken the initiative to go beyond their call of duty and ultimately, Do More.

Unilever vice president for personal care Gina Lorenzana and Rappler founder and kicked of Rappler, Maria Ressa kicked off the night, sharing their words of wisdom and personal Do More philosophies.

The winners of the eight categories were the following:

Digital trailblazer

Red Tani, founder of Filipino Freethinkers, an organization that advocates for reason, science and secularism

Global Pinoy

Susan Ople, president of the Blas Ople Policy Center


Rolando Dela Cruz, president and chief executive of Bulacan’s Darwin International School System.


Mimi Lucas, South East Asian Games bronze medalist


AG Sano, artist and peace muralist


Daniel Razon, award winning broadcaster and chief executive of UNTV

Social entrepreneur

Mark Ruiz, co-founder and president of Hapinoy

Civic hero

Luis Oquinena, executive director of Gawad Kalinga

From Aug. 6 to Oct. 5, hundreds of entries for the eight categories were submitted—of which 24 finalists were chosen by a panel of eight judges to move on to public voting, which generated over 40,000 votes online.

The panel of judges consisted of Unilever head of PR for personal care, Apples Aberin, Senator Bam Aquino, Philippine eco entrepreneur Jim Ayala, cultural advocate Carlos Celdran, Asean social entrepreneur Illac Diaz, investigative journalist Marites Vitug, and Rexona Do: More believers Bianca Gonzalez and Phil Younghusband.

The other presenters included Rags 2 Riches chief executive and co-founder, Reese Fernandez, actor and entrepreneur Marvin Agustin, Google Philippines country head, Narciso Reyes, internationally renowned sculptor Olivia D’Aboville and Sen. Nancy Binay.

All winners were given a cash prize of P50,000 to be given to their chosen charity.

Aquino the Do More Awards was “a call to action for those who don’t do more.”

“They’ve shown us what being Filipino is all about,” he said.

The winners also reminded the audience of the challenges that Filipinos face due to the devastation caused by supertyphoon Yolanda. Civic Hero winner Luis Oquinena and Artist winner AG Sano offered their victories to the typhoon victims and volunteers.


COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by The Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with The Standard editorial standards, The Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.