23 Miss Makati bets unveiled

The Makati City government on Wednesday formally presented the 23 candidates for Miss Makati 2019 at The Conservatory, Peninsula Manila as part of the city’s 349th anniversary celebration.

With a theme “Creating the Future Now," this year’s pageant is focused on highlighting women’s roles in building a smart, sustainable and future-ready Makati.

In a statement, Mayor Abigail Binay said Miss Makati 2019 shall embody the shared vision and aspirations of the city and its people. 

“From among our candidates, we will seek not only beauty, grace and intelligence, but also the ability to inspire positive change among fellow Makatizens.,” she said.

The candidates who come from the different barangays of Makati were able to meet the basic qualifications set for the search for Miss Makati, as follows: single Filipino female; 17 to 25 years old; lives, works or studies in Makati; at least 5’4” tall; and at least high school graduate or currently in Grade 12.

The coronation will be held at the Makati Coliseum on Friday (June 21).

The board of judges is chaired by fashion designer Albert Andrada, and includes fashion designers Paul Cabral and Anthony Ramirez; Shiela Romero, CEO of Air Asia; Kate Pagkalinawan, CEO and president of iSkin Aesthetic Lifestyle; George Royeca, Angkas regulatory and public affairs head; Tim Yap, TV host and entrepreneur; actress-model Ruffa Gutierrez; and actor Franco Laurel.

Whoever wins the ‘Miss Makati’ crown will win P200,000 as cash prize, while ‘Miss Makati Tourism’ will win P150,000 cash prize, and ‘Miss Makatizen’ will win P100,000 cash prize. Special awards from Air Asia, ISkin Aesthetic Lifestyle and Balmain will also be given to candidates of their choice. The other pageant sponsors are Folded and Hung, Figlia shoes, HBC (Home of Beauty Color), DCP (Design Council Philippines), SGV, and St. Giles Hotel.

Gutierrez, the Miss World 1993 second runner-up, surprised the gorgeous women, as she graced the event and gave tips to the aspirants on how they can conquer the pageant.

“You need to be yourself, just be natural and enjoy every step in the way,” Gutierrez said during a question and answer portion with the beauty aspirants. With Charles Dantes

Out of over 50 aspirants, the finalists include Micah Beatrice Santos (Carmona); Charlene Marie Inonog (Kasilawan); Stephanie Isabelle Aquino (Poblacion); Kristina Cassandra Bahaj (Sta. Cruz); Sophia Michaela Leanne Aguado (Pio del Pilar); Alliaa Nicole Diputado (Tejeros); Venice Kayla Barrameda (Guadalupe Viejo); Gianelle Anne Balaton (Valenzuela); Patricia Rose Pangan (San Isidro); Bianca Gabrielle Abaya (Poblacion); Lailah Guiuan (Pembo); Kaoru Aseana Pimentel (South Cembo); and Jan Karen Esguerra (Bel-Air).

Also on the list are Monica Acuno (West Rembo); Hannah Patricia Beatrice Kristiansen (Northside); Desiree Harriet Alyanna Gamboa (Guadalupe Viejo); Charlyn Joyce Barrientos (Southside); Ma. Anna Clarisse Villavicencio (San Antonio); Marie Gabrielle Brillantes (Poblacion); Princess Vinia Putulin (South Cembo); Renee Rose Tirones (San Lorenzo); Elliah Kate Nicolas (East Rembo); Jeanne Pauline Suplente (Guadalupe Viejo); and  Erika Mae Salvador (Comembo).

The city government is holding a month-long 349th Araw ng Makati celebration with a theme “Makati 2025: Fast-tracking Progress.” With Charles Dantes

Topics: Miss Makati 2019 , “Creating the Future Now” , Albert Andrada , Abigail Binay
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA