Karla O’Hara crowned 2018 Miss Makati

Makati Mayor Abby Binay has announced the winner of the search for Miss Makati 2018—Karla O’Hara of Barangay Pio del Pilar—who bested 15 other candidates during the coronation ceremony held Saturday evening at the Circuit Makati Event Grounds in Makati.

Mayor Abby said the newly crowned Miss Makati 2018 will serve as the city’s ambassador of goodwill, representing the city and its advocacies and programs, such as women and youth empowerment, and helping promote Makati as the premier investment destination in the country.

“We are proud to present the new Miss Makati who embodies the qualities of the Makati woman: smart, innovative, graceful, confident and empowered. A woman of beauty and substance,” the mayor said.

O’Hara, 21, is a Mass Communications graduate from St. Louis University and is currently a freelance model. She describes herself as a positive person who always sees her glass half full.

Irina Cortez of Barangay Sta. Cruz was named Miss Makati Tourism 2018. She also won two special awards, the Best in Modern Filipiniana and Best in Long Gown.

Karla O’Hara of Barangay Pio del Pilar, 21, shows the look that helped her beat 15 other candidates for the Miss Makati 2018 title during the coronation ceremony Saturday evening at the Circuit Makati Event Grounds in Makati.
Aya Frances Cruz of Barangay Rizal bagged the new Miss Makatizen title.

Miss Makati 2018 took home P200,000 as major cash prize, scholarship at Canadian Tourism and Hospitality Institute, various gift items and gift certificates worth thousands of pesos.

Miss Makati Tourism 2018 won P150,000 cash, scholarship at CTHI, and gift items and gift certificates.

Miss Makatizen won P100,000 cash, scholarship at CTHI, and gift items and gift certificates.

The first runner-up was Millen Cueto of Barangay West Rembo and second runner-up was Fatima Thamara Loong of Barangay South Cembo.

Dana Ashley Mayo of Barangay Cembo won two special awards, the Social Media Choice award, and the Best in Sportswear. Andrea Yap Diangco of Barangay San Antonio was chosen as Miss Photogenic while Maria Kathleen Agulto of Barangay Guadalupe Nuevo was named as Miss Congeniality.

Now on its 28th year, the Miss Makati 2018 pageant was one of the highlights of the citywide celebration of the 348th foundation day of Makati. It was hosted by Robi Domingo and Stephany Stefanowitz.

The board of judges in this year’s pageant was chaired by Manny Blas II, Vice President of Ayala Land, Inc.; with members Gil Granado, President of the Fashion Designers Association of the Philippines or FDAP; Atty. Mary Grace Arboladura, corporate counsel of Finex Management and a yoga teacher; and Jaimee Herrel, beauty queen and TV host. 

Other judges were MJ Marfori, TV host and anchor of the media industry’s leading entertainment program; Val Taguba, well-known fashion designer; and Karen Timbol, former Miss Teen Philippines, actress and model.

Entertainment numbers were provided by Ronnie Liang and LED Dancers.

Other candidates who made it to the top 16 of this year’s Miss Makati search were Alexis Micaela Simbulan (Poblacion); Cristelle Unisa Laquian (Pio del Pilar); Cristine Allen Rada (Guadalupe Viejo); CJ Viray (Poblacion); Henna S. Santos (Post Proper Southside); Clarice Gutierrez (East Rembo); Maria Frencheska Nueva (Pinagkaisahan); and Diana Rose Santos (East Rembo).

The candidates were judged with the following criteria: Intelligence, 40 percent; beauty, 40 percent; and personality, 20 percent.

Topics: Karla O’Hara , 2018 Miss Makati , Makati Mayor Abby Binay

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA