‘Hulagway sa Davao’ photo tilt winners named

DAVAO CITY—The City Government of Davao have chosen the winners of the Hulagway sa Araw ng Davao 2018 Photo Contest.

Three judges picked the standouts from 70 entries based on the event’s criteria: Creativity (30 percent), Composition (30 percent), Originality (30 percent), and Relevance to the Theme (10 percent).

First-timer Rowena Lou Diong topped the contest with her entry “Kasadya,” which showed how Davao City employees enjoyed the Araw ng mg Empleyado (Employees’ Day).

The judges said Diong’s piece “is full of joy and excitement.” It showed an employee hitting the earthen pot during a game. 

Diong will get a cash prize of P15,000.

Second place went to Jason Daquigan with his entry “Kung Kaya Mo, Kaya Ko” and earned him P10,000. His entry showed a group of persons with disability who actively participated in the Parada Dabawenyo.

Quezon City Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte (right) walks with Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio during the 81st founding anniversary of Davao City, two days after the presidential daughter visited Quezon City as guest of honor of the Office of the Vice Mayor in the celebration of the National Women’s Month. Manny Palmero
Henry Doctolero Jr.’s “Shout for Joy” bagged the third prize and P5,000, as his photo showed the triumph of children who won the Sayaw Pinoy Traditional Dance Competition.

Meanwhile, the Mayor’s Choice award was handed to “Ato Ni!” by Cherry Mae Calope, which showed a young Lumad girl selling her handcrafted bracelets. It earned her P3,000.

The 17 other entries who were chosen as runners-up will get P1,500 each.

They are Julianne Nacional, Carlos Ng, Laarni Pillo, Jerson Flores, Bouchard Prado, Eduardo Flores, Jr., Climaco Cane, Cherry Mae Calope, Debbie Faye Selga (2 photos), Joselito Parantar, Jr., Jan Michael Paradilla, Erol Avanoglu (2 photos), Mark Anthony San and Joshua James Antiampo. 

Daquigan’s other photo also made it as a runner-up.

Topics: City Government of Davao , Hulagway sa Araw ng Davao , 2018 Photo Contest , Rowena Lou Diong , Kasadya , Araw ng mg Empleyado
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementSpeaker GMA